2015 Penbrook Property of Merit Award Ceremony


POM Home


Congratulations to Angie Minito of Canby Street, the 2015 Penbrook Property of Merit Grand Prize Award winner! Penbrook Police Chief David Heister presented the award to Angie at the PPOM Reception that was held October 7th at the Penbrook Community Building, 150 S 28th Street, Penbrook, PA. Angie’s home exemplifies the pride of ownership the Property of Merit program seeks to promote.

The PPOM Committee presented its Founder’s Award to the homeowner with the most interesting story about their home. This year’s Founder’s Award went to Debby Jones of South 27th Street.

The Central Dauphin East String Ensemble provided wonderful music as the audience enjoyed cookies and beverages and a slide show of the Winners’ properties. Our speaker for this special event was Erica Shaffer, the Nursery manager at Highland Gardens. Erica shared ecologically healthy garden tips on common yard and garden problems.

State Representative Sue Helms personally greeted each Penbrook Property of Merit Winner with a proclamation. State Senator Rob Teplitz’s office sent greetings and Dauphin County Commissioners provided each property owner with their own individual Dauphin County PPOM winner for the day proclamation.

A Big “Thank You” to the reception Sponsors for their financial and gift support:

Harrisburg VFW Post 1718
Display & Graphics, Inc.
Kelly & Company
Saul Ewing LLP
Anonymous Donor
Cost Management Plus, Inc
Roberto’s Pizza
3405 Associates LLC
The National Civil War Museum
Intrepid TV Repair, Inc
Highland Gardens
Jim Crum and Dorothy E. Hamilton
Harrisburg Kitchen & Bath
The Zigmund Co. Ltd.
MC Pizzeria
and The Borough of Penbrook

The Property of Merit Winners honored at the reception were:

Ward 1

Yvonne and John Bass
2508 Thomas Street

Nancy and Neil Dimeler*
2415 Canby Street

Ward 2

Angie Minito*
2639 Canby Street

Meredith and Matthew Pond
36 South 24th Street

Ward 3

Debby Jones
130 South 27th Street

Walter Ottenberg and MyLinh Tran*
2926 George Street

Ward 4

Annetta Faulcon*
2900 Boas Street

Maria Navarro Estright and Robb Stroll
2702 Hoffer Street

Rental Properties

Alex Manning*
2655 Walnut Street

Mary Ellen Heefner
3035 Butler Street

Businesses/ Institutional Properties

Harrisburg Kung Fu Center
Michael and Millie Rothermel
2331 Walnut Street

Joe Gravino Body & Paint Shop*
Joe Gravino
18 North 27th Street

*People’s Choice Award


Thank you to the Property of Merit Leadership Team for a wonderful evening:

Ruth Moraski Keller
Overall Team Leader Co-chair
Carmen Gonzalez
Overall Team Leader Co-chair
Karen Moraski
Reception Chair
Dorothy Hamilton
Nominating Co-Chair
Jim Crum
Nominating Co-Chair
Carmen Gonzalez
Balloting Chair