2016 Penbrook Property of Merit Award Ceremony




Congratulations to Ruth and Leo Brown of 2501 Thomas Street, the 2016 Penbrook Property of Merit Grand Prize Award winner! Penbrook Revitalization Inc. President Ruth Moraski Keller announced the award at the PPOM Reception that was held October 5th at the Penbrook Community Building, 150 S 28th Street, Penbrook, PA. Ruth and Leo's home exemplifies the pride of ownership the Property of Merit program seeks to promote.

Penbrook Police Chief David Heister presented the Founder's Award to the homeowner with the most interesting story about their home. This year's Founder's Award went to Frank and Dorothy Bomgardner of 3008 George Street.

The Central Dauphin East String Ensemble provided wonderful music as the audience enjoyed snacks and beverages. Our speaker for this special event was Gilbert H. Hirschel (View Bio), Resource Coordinator for the Dauphin County Conservation District. He spoke on Homeowner Actions for Managing Stormwater which included a discussion of the benefits and uses of rain barrels.

State Representative Sue Helms sent a proclamation from the PA State House of Representatives to each Penbrook Property of Merit Winner. State Senator Rob Teplitz's office sent greetings and Dauphin County Commissioner Mike Pries provided each property owner with their own individual Dauphin County PPOM winner for the day proclamation.

Two Rain Barrels were given away to those who attended the reception and signed up for the drawing. The winners were Bud Boal along with Jennifer Robinson.

A Big "Thank You" to the reception Sponsors for their financial and gift support:

Harrisburg VFW Post 1718
The Zigmund Co. Ltd.
The National Civil War Museum
Jim Crum and Dorothy E. Hamilton
Anonymous Donor
3405 Associates LLC
Kelly & Company
Saul Ewing LLP
Harrisburg Kung Fu Center
Cost Management Plus, Inc
Intrepid TV Repair, Inc
Fine Line Homes
Roberto's Pizza
MC Pizzeria
Display & Graphics, Inc.
and The Borough of Penbrook

The Property of Merit Winners honored at the reception were:

Ward 1

Thelma Hodge
2426 Parkway Blvd.

Ruth & Leo Brown*
2501 Thomas Street

Ward 2

Frank A. & Donna L. Wedig*
2524 Boas Street

Holly A. Garcia
2531 Penbrook Avenue

Ward 3

Frank & Dorothy Bomgardner
3008 George Street

Gregory & Sarah Reifsnyder*
205 N. 30th Street

Ward 4

Jennifer Robinson*
2844 Banks Street

Bud & Wanda L. Boal
2715 Boas Street

Rental Properties

Joe Perkins, Chris Moul*
2804 Butler St.

Homer C. Floyd, Charles E. & Cheryl Brown
2436 Canby Street


Fresh Cut Barbershop
2700 Butler Street

East Shore Auto, Inc.*
2425 Herr Street

*People's Choice Award


Thank you to the Property of Merit Leadership Team for a wonderful evening:

Rick Levandusky
Overall Team Leader Co-chair
Ruth Moraski Keller
Nominating Co-Chair
Dorothy Hamilton
Nominating Co-Chair
Karen Moraski
Reception Chair
Carmen Gonzalez
Balloting Chair

If you would like a full size image of any of the above, please send an email to penbrookrevitalization@gmail.com with the photo number(s) that you would like and we will send an email back with the photos